About Delta State Print

          Delta are creative and inteligent people,

          taking the lead in the media, financial sector,

          education,   sports and entertainment

          industries in Nigeria

Welcome to Delta State. It in one of the 36 States in the Federation of Nigeria with a population of about 4 million that is growing at about 3 percentage points, per annum 
Delta State is located in the South region of the Niger-Delta that is rich in oil gas. It is generally low-lying with vegetation interspersed with the mangrove swamp and the rain forest. It is bounded to the South by a coastline of about 160 kilometers of the Atlantic Ocean
The State Capita is Asaba. Other mayor towns in Delta State are Warri, Sapele, Agbor and Kwale 
Delta State is in the oil rich Niger-Delta area in Southern Nigeria and  produces about 30% of Country’s total oil and gas output which accounts for a significant amount of Nigeria’s current
foreign exchange earnings.
It is generally low-lying and has a Coastline of about 160 kilometers on the River Niger, inter-laced with rivulets and streams.


Delta State was created on August 27, 1991. It was carved out of the now defunct Bendel State.


The State comprises 25 local government areas namely: Oshimili, Aniocha, Aniocha South, Ika South, Ika North-East, Ndokwa West, Ndokwa East, Isoko south, Isoko North, Bomadi, Burutu, Ughelli South, Ughelli North, Ethiope West, Ethiope East, Sapele, Okpe, Warri North, Warri South, Uvwie, Udu, Warri Central, Ukwani, Oshimili North and Patani.


The States bordering Delta are Edo to the north, Ondo to the north-West, Anambra to the east and Rivers to the southeast. On its southern flank is the Bight of Benin.


The Major ethnic groups are Urhobo, Igbo, Ijaw, Isoko and Itsekiri. All the ethnic groups claim a common ancestry, consequently, their cultures are similar. These similarities are manifested in their religious folklores, dances, art and crafts and festivals.


The State has a tropical climate marked by two distinct seasons, the dry and rainy season. The dry season occurs from November to April and rainy season from May to October. There exists a brief dry spell in August commonly referred to as August break. From December to February, the dry harmattan wind blows over the state.


            Delta State Statistics


Date Created 27 August 1991
Capital Asaba
Area 17,698 km² Ranked 23rd
1991 Census
2005 estimate
Ranked 9th
ISO 3166-2 NG-DE
Follow Us
Find us on Facebook
Follow Us